Search

2 - 4 September 2019 | Cape Town, South Africa

Special Sessions

Overview

A number of special sessions will be organised and held within the framework of the SEMC 2019 International Conference. Special sessions, while devoted to the reporting and discussion of the latest developments on a particular theme, are expected to have international relevance. Prospective organisers are invited to submit proposals for special sessions as soon as possible, and by 31 July 2018 at the latest. They will be expected to identify potential contributors from around the world, and invite Authors to prepare and submit papers for the special session. Special sessions will typically feature 10 to 25 presentations. Organisers of special sessions will be exempted from payment of the registration fee if their session attracts 12 or more registered contributors.

Authors interested in contributing a paper to a special session will be required to submit their abstracts directly to the organiser of the special session, at the same time making a copy available to the Conference editor. The general deadlines for the submission of abstracts and full papers will also apply for contributions to special sessions.

SEMC 2019 special sessions that have been accepted to date, and the names and contact details of their organisers, are as follows (this list will expand as more proposals are accepted):

SS01: Modelling and Optimization of Composite Structures
Organisers: Prof. Aurelio Araujo & Prof. Jose Madeira, University of Lisbon, Portugal
Emails: aurelio.araujo@ist.utl.pt ; aguilarmadeira@tecnico.ulisboa.pt
Click here for Session Summary

SS02: Structural Health Monitoring and Damage Identification
Organisers: Prof. Maria Pina Limongelli, Politecnico di Milano, Italy
& Prof. Guido De Roeck, University of Leuven, Belgium
Emails: mariagiuseppina.limongelli@polimi.it ; guido.deroeck@bwk.kuleuven.be
Click here for Session Summary

SS03: Cold-Formed Steel Systems and Components
Organiser: Prof. Kim Rasmussen, University of Sydney, Australia
Email: kim.rasmussen@sydney.edu.au
Click here for Session Summary

SS04: Multiscale Modelling and Theory of Porous Media
Organisers: Prof. Jörg Schröder, University of Duisburg-Essen, Germany & Prof. Tim Ricken, TU Dortmund, Germany
Emails: j.schroeder@uni-due.de ; tim.ricken@tu-dortmund.de
Click here for Session Summary

SS05: Behaviour of Structures in Fire
Organisers: Prof. Mario Fontana, Swiss Federal Institute of Technology, Switzerland & Prof. Markus Knobloch, Ruhr-Universität Bochum, Germany
Emails: fontana@ibk.baug.ethz.ch ; Markus.Knobloch@ruhr-uni-bochum.de
Click here for Session Summary

SS06: High-Performance & Ultra High-Performance Concrete
Organiser: Prof. Ekkehard Fehling, University of Kassel, Germany
Email: fehling@uni-kassel.de
Click here for Session Summary

SS07: Design, Modelling and Analysis of Thin Shell Structures
Organiser: Prof. Krzysztof Magnucki, Poznan University of Technology, Poland
Email: krzysztof.magnucki@put.poznan.pl
Click here for Session Summary

SS08: Structural Use of FRP Composites
Organisers: Prof. Jian-Fei Chen, Queen’s University of Belfast, UK & Prof. Lawrence Bank, City University of New York, USA
Emails: j.chen@qub.ac.uk ; lbank2@ccny.cuny.edu
Click here for Session Summary

SS09: Renewable Energy Structures
Organisers: Prof. Lars Vabbersgaard Andersen & Dr. Zili Zhang, Aarhus University, Denmark
Emails: lva@eng.au.dk ; zili_zhang@eng.au.dk
Click here for Session Summary

SS10: Explosion Loading and Response Characteristics
Organisers: Prof. Genevieve Langdon, University of Cape Town, South Africa & Dr. Samuel Rigby, University of Sheffield, UK
Emails: Genevieve.langdon@uct.ac.za ; sam.rigby@sheffield.ac.uk
Click here for Session Summary

SS11: Bridge Dynamics
Organiser: Dr. Izabela Drygała, Cracow University of Technology, Poland
Email: idrygala@pk.edu.pl
Click here for Session Summary

SS12: Wind Effects on Structures
Organiser: Prof. Vincent Denoël, University of Liege, Belgium
Email: v.denoel@ulg.ac.be
Click here for Session Summary

SS13: Architectural and Structural Methods of Design and Calculation Carried Out in Two Stages
Organiser: Prof. Janusz Rębielak, Cracow University of Technology, Poland
Email: j.rebielak@wp.pl
Click here for Session Summary

SS14: Micromechanics of Advanced Materials and Processes
Organisers: Prof. Liguo Zhao & Dr. Anish Roy, Loughborough University, UK
Emails: L.Zhao@Lboro.ac.uk ; A.Roy3@Lboro.ac.uk
Click here for Session Summary

SS15: Vibration Control Using Smart Devices
Organisers: Prof. Rui Carneiro Barros, University of Porto, Portugal & Dr. Manuel Braz-Cesar, Instituto Politecnico Braganca, Portugal
Emails: rcb@fe.up.pt ; brazcesar@ipb.pt
Click here for Session Summary

SS16: Railway Infrastructures
Organisers: Prof. Diogo Ribeiro, Instituto Superior de Engenharia do Porto, Portugal ; Dr. Fulvio Busatta, University of Cape Town, South Africa & Prof. Rui Calçada, Universidade do Porto, Portugal
Emails: drr@isep.ipp.pt ; fulvio.busatta@uct.ac.za ; ruiabc@fe.up.pt
Click here for Session Summary

SS17: Environmental Vibrations
Organisers: Prof. Lars Vabbersgaard Andersen, Aarhus University, Denmark & Dr. Peter Persson, Lund University, Sweden
Emails: lva@eng.au.dk ; peter.persson@construction.lth.se
Click here for Session Summary

SS18: High Strength Steel in Research, Construction and Application
Organisers: Prof. Dr. Richard Stroetmann, TU Dresden, Germany & Prof. Dr. Milan Veljkovic, TU Delft, The Netherlands
Emails: Richard.Stroetmann@tu-dresden.de ; M.Veljkovic@tudelft.nl
Click here for Session Summary