Search

5 - 7 September 2022 | Cape Town, South Africa

Special Sessions

Overview

A number of special sessions will be organised and held within the framework of the SEMC 2022 International Conference. Special sessions, while devoted to the reporting and discussion of the latest developments on a particular theme, are expected to have international relevance. SEMC 2022 special sessions accepted to date, and the names and contact details of their organisers, are as follows (the list will be updated as more sessions are accepted):

SS01: Advances in Structural Optimization
Organisers: Prof. Jose Madeira & Prof. Aurelio Araujo, University of Lisbon, Portugal
Emails: aguilarmadeira@tecnico.ulisboa.pt ; aurelio.araujo@tecnico.ulisboa.pt
Click here for Session Summary

SS02: Structural Health Monitoring and Damage Identification
Organisers: Prof. Maria Pina Limongelli, Politecnico di Milano, Italy
& Prof. Guido De Roeck, University of Leuven, Belgium
Emails: mariagiuseppina.limongelli@polimi.it ; guido.deroeck@bwk.kuleuven.be
Click here for Session Summary

SS03: Cold-Formed Steel Systems and Components
Organiser: Prof. Kim Rasmussen, University of Sydney, Australia
Email: kim.rasmussen@sydney.edu.au
Click here for Session Summary

SS04: Multiscale Models of Multiphase Porous Materials
Organisers: Prof. Tim Ricken, University of Stuttgart, Germany & Prof. Jörg Schröder, University of Duisburg-Essen, Germany
Emails: tim.ricken@isd.uni-stuttgart.de ; j.schroeder@uni-due.de
Click here for Session Summary

SS05: Mechanics of Reinforced Concrete and Construction Materials
Organizer: Prof. Maria Anna Polak, University of Waterloo, Canada
Email: polak@uwaterloo.ca
Click here for Session Summary

SS06: Fatigue of Concrete in an Experimental-Virtual-Lab
Organisers: Prof. S. Anders, Bergische Universität Wuppertal, Germany ; Prof. L. Lohaus, Leibniz Universität Hannover, Germany & Prof. J. Schröder, University of Duisburg-Essen, Germany
Emails: s.anders@uni-wuppertal.de ; lohaus@baustoff.uni-hannover.de ; j.schroeder@uni-due.de
Click here for Session Summary

SS07: Application of Shape Memory Alloys in Civil Engineering
Organizer: Prof. Raafat El-Hacha, University of Calgary, Canada
Email: relhacha@ucalgary.ca
Click here for Session Summary

SS08: Structural Use of FRP Composites
Organisers: Prof. Lawrence Bank, Georgia Institute of Technology, USA; Prof. John Myers, Missouri University of Science and Technology, USA & Prof. Brahim Benmokrane, University of Sherbrooke, Canada
Emails: larry.bank@design.gatech.edu ; jmyers@mst.edu ; brahim.benmokrane@usherbrooke.ca
Click here for Session Summary

SS09: Renewable Energy Structures
Organisers: Prof. Lars Vabbersgaard Andersen & Dr. Zili Zhang, Aarhus University, Denmark
Emails: lva@eng.au.dk ; zili_zhang@eng.au.dk
Click here for Session Summary

SS10: Explosion Loading and Response Characteristics
Organisers: Prof. Genevieve Langdon, University of Cape Town, South Africa & Dr. Samuel Rigby, University of Sheffield, UK
Emails: Genevieve.langdon@uct.ac.za ; sam.rigby@sheffield.ac.uk
Click here for Session Summary

SS11: Bridge Dynamics
Organiser: Dr. Izabela Drygała, Cracow University of Technology, Poland
Email: idrygala@pk.edu.pl
Click here for Session Summary

SS12: Advancement of Technologies for Maintenance of Bridges
Organisers: Prof. Chul-Woo Kim & Prof. Kunitomo Sugiura, Kyoto University, Japan
Emails: kim.chulwoo.5u@kyoto-u.ac.jp ; sugiura.kunitomo.4n@kyoto-u.ac.jp
Click here for Session Summary

SS13: Superposition and Symmetry in Design Processes for Mechanical, Structural and Architectural Systems
Organiser: Prof. Janusz Rębielak, Cracow University of Technology, Poland
Email: j.rebielak@wp.pl
Click here for Session Summary

SS14: Micromechanics of Advanced Materials and Processes
Organisers: Prof. Liguo Zhao & Dr. Anish Roy, Loughborough University, UK
Emails: L.Zhao@Lboro.ac.uk ; A.Roy3@Lboro.ac.uk
Click here for Session Summary

SS15: Structural Applications of Glass
Organiser: Prof. Jan Belis, Ghent University, Belgium
Email: jan.belis@ugent.be
Click here for Session Summary

SS16: Railway Infrastructures
Organisers: Prof. Diogo Ribeiro, Instituto Superior de Engenharia do Porto, Portugal ; Dr. Fulvio Busatta, University of Cape Town, South Africa ; Prof. Rui Calçada & Dr. Pedro Montenegro, Faculdade de Engenharia da Universidade do Porto, Portugal ; Prof. Wanming Zhai, Southwest Jiaotong University, China
Emails: drr@isep.ipp.pt ; fulvio.busatta@uct.ac.za ; ruiabc@fe.up.pt ; paires@fe.up.pt ; wmzhai@swjtu.edu.cn
Click here for Session Summary

SS17: Environmental Vibrations
Organisers: Prof. Lars Vabbersgaard Andersen, Aarhus University, Denmark & Dr. Peter Persson, Lund University, Sweden
Emails: lva@cae.au.dk ; peter.persson@construction.lth.se
Click here for Session Summary

SS18: High Strength Steel in Research, Construction and Application
Organisers: Prof. Dr. Richard Stroetmann, TU Dresden, Germany & Prof. Guo-Qiang Li, Tongji University, China
Emails: Richard.Stroetmann@tu-dresden.de ; gqli@tongji.edu.cn
Click here for Session Summary

SS19: Additive Manufacturing
Organisers: Prof. Dr.-Ing. Jörg Lange, TU Darmstadt, Germany & Prof. Dr.-Ing. Ulrich Knaack, TU Delft, The Netherlands
Emails: j_lange@stahlbau.tu-darmstadt.de ; U.Knaack@tudelft.nl
Click here for Session Summary

SS20: Connections in Reinforced Concrete and Composite Structures
Organisers: Dr. Giovanni Muciaccia, Politecnico di Milano, Italy ; Prof. Akanshu Sharma, University of Stuttgart, Germany & Prof. Roman Wan-Wendner, Ghent University, Belgium
Emails: giovanni.muciaccia@polimi.it ; akanshu.sharma@iwb.uni-stuttgart.de ; roman.wanwendner@ugent.be
Click here for Session Summary

SS21: Fracture Mechanics of Wood and Timber Structures
Organiser: Dr. Rostand Moutou Pitti, Université Clermont Auvergne, France
Email: Rostand.moutou_pitti@uca.fr 
Click here for Session Summary

SS22: Adaptive Structures: Design, Optimisation and Control
Organisers: Dr. Gennaro Senatore, formerly EPFL, Switzerland; Prof. Manfred Bischoff & Prof. Werner Sobek, University of Stuttgart, Germany
Emails: gennarosenatore@gmail.com ; bischoff@ibb.uni-stuttgart.de ; werner.sobek@ilek.uni-stuttgart.de
Click here for Session Summary

SS23: Mechanical Characterisation of Soft Tissues
Organisers: Prof. F. Nemavhola & Dr. H. Ngwangwa, University of South Africa, South Africa ; Dr. T. Pandelani & Dr. D. Modungwa, Council for Scientific and Industrial Research, South Africa ; Dr. D. Desai, Tshwane University of Technology, South Africa
Emails: mastifj@unisa.ac.za ; Ngwanhm@unisa.ac.za ; tpandelani@csir.co.za ; Dmodungwa@csir.co.za ; DesaiDA@tut.ac.za
Click here for Session Summary

SS24: Frictional Quasistatic Contact Problems in Elasticity
Organizer: Prof. Nicolae Pop, Institute of Solid Mechanics of Romanian Academy, Bucharest, Romania
Email: nicolae.pop@imsar.ro ; nicpop@gmail.com
Click here for Session Summary

SS25: Inertial Damping and Other Forms of Vibration Control in Seismic Retrofitting of Existing Structures
Organisers: Prof. Elena Mele, University of Naples Federico II, Italy; Dr. Alessandro Palmeri, Loughborough University, UK; Prof. Alexandros Taflanidis, University of Notre Dame, USA
Emails: elenmele@unina.it ; A.Palmeri@Lboro.ac.uk ; a.taflanidis@nd.edu
Click here for Session Summary

SS26: Artificial Intelligence Techniques for Structural Health Monitoring
Organisers: Dr. Francesco Cadini, Dr. Luca Lomazzi & Dr. Marco Giglio, Politecnico di Milano, Italy
Emails: francesco.cadini@polimi.it ; luca.lomazzi@polimi.it ; marco.giglio@polimi.it
Click here for Session Summary

SS27: Progressive Collapse and Design for Robustness
Organizers: Prof. Uwe Starossek, Hamburg University of Technology, Germany & Prof. Jose M. Adam, Universitat Politècnica de Valencia, Spain
Emails: starossek@tuhh.de ; joadmar@upv.es
Click here for Session Summary