Search

5 - 7 September 2016 | Cape Town, South Africa

Special Sessions

Overview

A number of special sessions will be organised and held within the framework of the SEMC 2016 International Conference. Special sessions, while devoted to the reporting and discussion of the latest developments on a particular theme, will be expected to have international relevance. Prospective organisers are invited to submit proposals for special sessions as soon as possible, and by 31 July 2015 at the latest. They will be expected to identify potential contributors from around the world, and invite Authors to prepare and submit papers for the special session.

Special sessions will typically feature 10 to 20 presentations. Organisers of special sessions will be exempted from payment of the registration fee if their session attracts 12 or more registered contributors. It is expected that some of the special journal issues planned after the Conference will feature the themes of the bigger special sessions.

Authors interested in contributing a paper to a special session will be required to submit their abstracts directly to the organiser of the special session, at the same time making a copy available to the Conference editor. The general deadlines for the submission of abstracts and full papers will also apply for contributions to special sessions.

Special sessions accepted to date, and their organisers, are as follows (this list will expand as more proposals are accepted):

SS01: Modelling and Optimization of Composite Structures
Organisers: Prof. Aurelio Araujo & Prof. Jose Madeira, University of Lisbon, Portugal
Emails: aurelio.araujo@ist.utl.pt ; aguilarmadeira@tecnico.ulisboa.pt
Click here for Session Summary

SS02: System Identification and Structural Health Monitoring
Organiser: Prof. Guido De Roeck, University of Leuven, Belgium
Email: guido.deroeck@bwk.kuleuven.be
Click here for Session Summary

SS03: Cold-Formed Steel Systems and Components
Organiser: Prof. Kim Rasmussen, University of Sydney, Australia
Email: kim.rasmussen@sydney.edu.au
Click here for Session Summary

SS04: Multiscale Modelling and Theory of Porous Media
Organisers: Prof. Jörg Schröder, University of Duisburg-Essen, Germany & Prof. Tim Ricken, TU Dortmund, Germany
Emails: j.schroeder@uni-due.de ; tim.ricken@tu-dortmund.de
Click here for Session Summary

SS05: Behaviour of Structures in Fire
Organisers: Prof. Mario Fontana, Swiss Federal Institute of Technology, Switzerland & Prof. Markus Knobloch, Ruhr-Universität Bochum, Germany
Emails: fontana@ibk.baug.ethz.ch ; Markus.Knobloch@ruhr-uni-bochum.de
Click here for Session Summary

SS06: High-Performance & Ultra High-Performance Concrete
Organiser: Prof. Ekkehard Fehling, University of Kassel, Germany
Email: fehling@uni-kassel.de
Click here for Session Summary

SS07: Design, Modelling and Analysis of Thin Shell Structures
Organiser: Prof. Krzysztof Magnucki, Poznan University of Technology, Poland
Email: krzysztof.magnucki@put.poznan.pl
Click here for Session Summary

SS08: Structural Use of FRP Composites
Organisers: Prof. Jian-Fei Chen, Queen’s University of Belfast, UK & Prof. Lawrence Bank, City College of New York, USA
Emails: j.chen@qub.ac.uk ; lbank2@ccny.cuny.edu
Click here for Session Summary

SS09: Offshore Foundations
Organiser: Prof. Lars Andersen, Aalborg University, Denmark
Email: la@civil.aau.dk
Click here for Session Summary

SS10: Non-Destructive Evaluation of Structures
Organiser: Prof. Al Ghorbanpoor, University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee, USA
Email: algh@uwm.edu
Click here for Session Summary

SS11: Case Studies in Structural Engineering
Organisers: Dr. Kourosh Kayvani, Aurecon (Global Director of Excellence & Expertise), Australia;
Prof. Jan Wium & Mr. Chris Jurgens, University of Stellenbosch, South Africa
Emails: kourosh.kayvani@aurecongroup.com ; janw@sun.ac.za ; cj@sun.ac.za
Click here for Session Summary

SS12: Wind Effects on Structures
Organiser: Prof. Vincent Denoël, University of Liege, Belgium
Email: v.denoel@ulg.ac.be
Click here for Session Summary

SS13: Steel Structures: Nonlinear Behaviour and Design
Organisers: Prof. Leroy Gardner & Dr. Ahmer Wadee, Imperial College London, UK
Email: leroy.gardner@imperial.ac.uk ; a.wadee@imperial.ac.uk
Click here for Session Summary

SS14: Assessment and Rehabilitation of Historical Masonry Structures
Organiser: Prof. Ece Erdogmus, University of Nebraska-Lincoln, USA
Email: eerdogmus2@unl.edu
Click here for Session Summary

SS15: Vibration Control using MR Damping Devices
Organisers: Prof. Rui Carneiro Barros, University of Porto, Portugal & Dr. Manuel Braz-Cesar, Instituto Politecnico Braganca, Portugal
Emails: rcb@fe.up.pt, brazcesar@ipb.pt
Click here for Session Summary

SS16: Non-Linear Dynamics & Stability
Organiser: Dr. Jiri Naprstek, Academy of Sciences of the Czech Republic, Czech Republic
Email: naprstek@itam.cas.cz
Click here for Session Summary

SS17: Vibration Serviceability
Organiser: Prof. Alex Pavic, Exeter University, UK
Email: a.pavic@exeter.ac.uk
Click here for Session Summary